putting a smile on someone’s face is different from being the source of someone’s happiness

Over the years I’ve learned that I can’t make other people happy.  They have to find their own source of happiness. When I was a little girl, I’d listen to my parents and their friends gather and brag about their children, as if we were their prized possessions.  If I did well, I received loads of praise and love, but if I didn’t end up in first place, I was shamed, “Why couldn’t you be more like Susan?  She practices 4 or 5 hours a day!”  I felt responsible for my parents’ happiness.  If I did well, they were happy.  If I didn’t, they were ashamed.

As I’m learning to find my own self worth that is independent of pleasing anyone else, I’m realizing there’s a fine, but very distinct line between doing something for someone from my heart, and doing something for someone from my head.

When I give of myself, from my heart – simply because I am filled with joy when I give, I expect no recognition whatsoever.  I like imagining the smile that I put on someone’s face.

When I give of myself from the ego I expect something in return – whether it be praise, appreciation or love.  I sit there waiting to be acknowledged, and if I’m not recognized for my work or gifts, I feel resentment, anger, or discontent.

Giving pure simple love, wants nothing in return.

The words on my tea bag yesterday read,  “The person who gives love is happy.”

 

One thought on “putting a smile on someone’s face is different from being the source of someone’s happiness

Leave a Reply

