seeing divorce in a new loving light

it’s not that i’m walking away from something beautiful.  and it’s not that i’m walking away from something horrible.

to put it simply, i’m not walking away.

i’m choosing to focus my positive energy on loving myself.

a dear friend asked me the other day if i read the paper everyday.  i do not. it’s a conscious choice i make not to ‘engage’ in the details of what’s happening in the world.  instead of reading the whole paper, i skim. i want to stay abreast of what’s happening in the world, but i choose not to know the details.  the details are too negative for me to bear everyday.

do i love this world?  yes!

do i love the details that are happening in this world?  no.

because i don’t like the details, i choose not to focus on the details, and instead i focus on the things i love about the world, and change the things that are within my control to change.

do i love this man who has been in my life for 41 years?  yes!

do i love the details that are happening in his life as they relate to me?  no.

i don’t have to try and change anything about him – that is out of my control. but i can focus on myself, love myself, and know that in caring for myself, i continue to learn and to grow.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

