fresh and open to new possibilities begins with the seeds of curiosity and a willingness to change

“and the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.” – anais nin

i can sit around waiting for change, or i can choose to create change. and i suppose it’s a combination and balance of the two – accepting the change the universe presents, while at the same time admitting to myself that i have choices that i can make that can create change, that those choices keep me from being stuck and allow me to blossom, if you will.

we are all too familiar with the ‘comfort zone’.  we go through life, often stuck in this comfort zone, afraid to wander out, afraid to try something new, settling for the same routine to be played again and again.

if i take on the perspective of the tiny infant in awe of every detail in his mommy’s face, i suddenly experience a deep sense of opportunity and wonder. if i take on the perspective that i have so much to learn, and so much i don’t know, then i find my curiosity overpowering any settling that i may experience from being in my comfort zone.

if i take on the perspective that each day is a new beginning, that i can have a fresh start, i see how much there is to explore and discover in my lifetime.

visiting my parents as often as i do, gives me such appreciation for them.  as i see them age, it’s a constant reminder of just how precious life is and how wonderful an adventure life can be when one is willing to step out of the comfort zone.

my time here on earth is limited, and so i ask myself, ‘am i living my fullest life? am i allowing myself to blossom? is there more that i seek outside my comfort zone? am i living with intention and purpose? what conscious changes can i make that will lead to a more fulfilled life?’

 

3 thoughts on “fresh and open to new possibilities begins with the seeds of curiosity and a willingness to change

  1. Manette!! You are so brave to not only to ask the question, “Am I living a fulfilled life?”, but also to begin your exploration. I think about my little Imani’s high need for structure, yet within that structure she feels safe to proclaim herself the smart one, to question, to be free. Are we teaching her to be that same little adventurer outside the safety of her familiar? It’s so important, isn’t it? Love you, Moana!! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

