in order to spread the love, i have to love myself first

one of the greatest lessons that i’m learning on this journey of life, is to love myself first. all my life i’ve been taught to think of others first, and to help as best i can, but not if it means helping others defines me and gives me my self worth.

helping others is all good, if i love myself first.  because caring for someone else thinking that i am helping them, or that i will bring them happiness, leaves me unfulfilled because in the end it is not me that will make them happy; they must find their own happiness within.  by serving others to find self fulfillment will leave me feeling empty if that is the only source of my happiness.

when i stopped believing that it was up to me to make him feel better,

when i stopped believing that i could make him a happy person,

when i stopped believing that unconditional love meant loving someone more than myself,

i became acutely aware of what i needed to do to take care of myself.

i became acutely aware of my needs and started loving myself first.

i became acutely aware of the changes and choices i need to make to nourish the self love.

 

Leave a Reply

