fear builds walls; faith and understanding builds bridges

i was in too much shock to sleep last night.  i found myself curled up like a baby, crying. three of my children are teachers in under-resourced schools and i received a text from my youngest: “i don’t know how to be there for my kids today.” and then my eldest sent this article and it did help me process last night’s mind-boggling results:

what do we tell the children?

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/what-should-we-tell-the-children_us_5822aa90e4b0334571e0a30b

instead of being in fear that we just elected a bigot and bully to the office of president, and that our country is full of people who think like him, i can pause and try and understand a people who have a different perspective than i. and when the kids ask me why does he hate people?  i can say, we’re all learning. we all have to take the time to get to know each other better. he doesn’t hate them, he just doesn’t know them.

i have to be in acceptance of what is, and that perhaps what i need to do is be open to the possibility that nothing changes if nothing changes. maybe i need to stop judging, and start getting to know someone who thinks very differently from i.  maybe i need to get know this man i fear.

maybe i need to stop being like the person i fear, someone who judges without knowing.

and instead be the person i like to be around, someone who listens and makes the effort to get to know me.

 

3 thoughts on “fear builds walls; faith and understanding builds bridges

  1. Thank you Manette. I didn’t sleep last night either. My daughters are in tears and my son is confused. It’s scary to think how we’ve gone from hope and change to hate and fear, but we will get through this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not a person of a few words and yet I find myself speechless. I I am in utter shock, it’s been 24 hours and I don’t know if the shock is worse today than it was yesterday. I was sick to my stomach today, feeling very uncomfortable & wanted to isolate and shut the world out and be alone to try and understand what happened, and eventually get to acceptance. I understand we have to give it time, and give him the opportunity to try and do his best- he is just not the poster child for anything that America stands for, and I hope and pray to God that he surrounds him with advisors that have more morals, manners, respect, dignity, heart etc.. than our newly elected president. God Bless 🙏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh sweet reta..your words are so true. they brought me more peace. thank you. yesterday was not easy for me, but today will be better, thanks to you and all those who live with with respect, love and kindness as their path. i love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

