heaven isn’t a place, it’s the mystericles we experience when we open our hearts

just past midnight, brian reached over, kissed me and whispered, ‘happy birthday’…’it’s official, you’re 60’.  how sweet is that?

i’ve been telling myself that for years already, getting ready for the day, i suppose. how strange to think that yesterday i was young, and today i’m old.  ha! seriously, in my mind, when people say they’re 59, it sounds a lot younger than 60.  funny how our minds work.

i read this morning “heaven is under our feet as well as over our heads”- henry thoreau.

i do believe that’s true, and even more, if that’s possible. i’m realizing that heaven is not a place we earn entrance into if we’re good, it’s more the experience itself, that we create as we connect with the gratitude and compassion that god wants us to learn as we travel along connecting with people learning that same lesson.

it’s the gratitude and understanding learned from the tough stuff that has brought me to heaven on earth.

as i held his face between my hands, and felt the scruff of his beard, and smelled his clean skin, i found myself filled with so much gratitude for the man who continues to teach me about life and its many mysteries -the loving father of our beautiful children.

as we experience heaven on earth, the blessings are in the hoot of the owl who lives in our tall eucalyptus tree, the touch of his hand, the smell of the lavender in my garden ….mystericles are everywhere.

2 thoughts on “heaven isn’t a place, it’s the mystericles we experience when we open our hearts

  1. Manette, first of all HAPPY BIRTHDAY 🎉🎊🎂 🎈 you make 60 look fabulous. If that’s how I’m going to look at 60, I will not worry another day about it. You age backwards. I love you so much, I hope you’re having a fabulous day, wish you an amazing weekend filled with so much laughter, love, music, and beautiful memories to look back on. I love you! 😘❤️💋

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

