choices that are made in my wholeness, bring me peace

one thing i’ve learned is not to let another person’s sad mood take me down too.  there’s a part of me that wants to stay by his side, and keep him company, but there’s another part of me that wants to have a life, to stay busy enjoying life. if i find myself going to a place of ‘woe is me’, i pause and choose to feed my soul. i can go have fun with friends, or stay at home.  if i choose to stay home, i must be wiling to create my own joy and not rely on him to make me happy.

what i’ve also learned is that if it’s only a part of me that wants to stay by his side, and the other part of me wants to be with friends, i must be willing to listen to that part of me that is not familiar – doing things without him. is that truly what i would like to do? how important is it to me?

of course the most ideal is when all parts of me are in agreement. when i experience my whole self instead of parts of me wanting to go one way, and the other part the other way. i center myself, allow my parts to become one, by quieting that part of me that wants to judge, complain and change someone else; and nurture that part of me that wants to connect and understand.

if i find myself feeling trapped and obligated, then i make a conscious choice to feed my heart, and sometimes it’s a simple shift in perspective that says, i’m here, i understand, i love you.

Leave a Reply

