we all matter, and that’s the truth

ren teaches a fifth grade class where her special needs children are mainstreamed in a lower east side manhattan public school. she always invites me to teach her kids sign language. for their end of the year concert, her children are singing this beautiful song – powerful.

she wanted me to teach her kids how to sign the song. at the end of the day, her children were signing and singing their hearts out.  it was so incredible seeing how quickly and earnestly they learned.  as we signed, and as they imitated me as i stood before them, there was a point where my tears just flowed, and i reached up to wipe them away.

when they incorporated the wipe of my tears into their signing, i smiled and cried, and felt the connection, big time.

2 thoughts on “we all matter, and that’s the truth

  1. My ❤️ is melting! I probably would have went and hugged each and every child because my heart would be bursting with love! Wish I could have witnessed that! Children are truly truly a miracle gift from God 🙏🏼

    Like

Leave a Reply

