hearing the genuine in you

“learn to be quiet enough to hear the genuine within yourself so that you can hear it in others” – marian wright edelman

my father would tell me, ‘it’s better to listen than to talk,’ and at the time i focused on the not talking part of the message.  i would spend most of my days listening to the voice in my head that would be wanting to talk, wanting to defend my position, wanting to be louder than you.  what i was missing was the focus on the listening part.

when i take the time to really listen, i usually grow.  listening means so much more than not talking.  to truly listen is to hear from the other person’s perspective.  listening means to accept the other person’s point of view without judgement to such a point that he feels comfortable enough to come from the heart, to open up and share his deepest fears.  to truly listen is to have the compassion to understand what the other person is going through.

“you never really know a man until you stood in his shoes and walked around in them” – atticus in to kill a mockingbird

in truly listening i find my genuine me, and when i do, i  hear the genuine in you.

2 thoughts on “hearing the genuine in you

  1. I was determined to read at least 1 of your blogs today….So glad I read this one! The topic of “listening w/compassion” in particular is a good one for me……
    Love you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

