“make myself a blessing to everyone i meet…that will be me”

last night i was blessed to be sitting with my man, my love, listening to brandi carlise sing from her heart.  this is the song that brings the two of us to tears every time we hear it.  brian discovered brandi during some of his darker days.  her words, her emotions, her pure sound touched him and helped him see that he wasn’t alone, and that there is hope and love around us.

depression is considered a mental illness, but i do believe its source begins in the broken heart.  because it’s through the heart that the healing takes place.  i’ve seen it happening in him everyday.  it’s the heart that stimulates the production of all those chemicals in our brains that help us stay balanced, to be mentally at ease.

when i live through the heart, i feel gratitude and forgiveness.  we all make mistakes, we all live with egos that tell us to be this or that, to compare and judge, but its through the heart where we find love and acceptance for our human fallibility.

“live is too short to not spend time with people you love” -brandi carlise

and this hits home in such a big way for me.  i can shut the door on people who have hurt me, but when i pause and allow myself to see there’s so much i have to learn about the other person, i see i want to grow.  that relationships deepen when we go through tough times and we learn from them, and we learn more about each other.  the heart doesn’t judge, the heart when opened, seeks compassion.  when i choose to understand his pain, i see i’m forever a student, and there i find the truth that connects me to him.

“Tell me did I go on a tangent?
Did I lie through my teeth?
Did I cause you to stumble on your feet?
Did I bring shame on my family?
Did it show when I was weak?
Whatever you see, that wasn’t me
That wasn’t me, that wasn’t me”
“But I want you to know that you’ll never be alone
I wanna believe do I make myself a blessing to everyone I meet
When you fall I will get you on your feet
Do I spend time with my family?
Did it show when I was weak?
When that’s what you see, that will be me
That will be me, that will be me
That will be me” – brandi carlise

Leave a Reply

